hello

… yes, I am still here. Taking 18 months off from this blog/project was not what I had intended, but here we are. My only excuse is that I was earning my Master’s Degree, and during that time I was insanely busy. I had all kinds of plans to find some of my ancestral sites, but as the information has been very difficult to find, it got put on the back burner. So, I will ask:

Does anyone know which cemetery in Lewisham, London that William Leitch (1791-1874) is buried in?

I lived in London for a year and a half and could not find that information. Someone has to know… anyone?? Any information you have, please tell me.

One good thing did come… a distant relative (through the Leitch line) contacted me this summer. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet as he lives in Wales and I was too busy to follow up. On a search through Ancestry.com tonight, I found he had added another image of my great-great-great grandfather, Thomas Henry Leitch (son of William).

Thomas Henry Leitch (credit: Andrew Leitch)

This is what I know:

He was born 13 May 1819 in Lee, Kent, England to William Leitch, a carpenter, and Mary Donmall. At the age of 14, he went to London and began a 7-year Apprenticeship to Master Tailor Charles Sane. The address is 27 Conduit Street (which is only 20 minutes from where I used to live!). This was in 1833.

(credit: Andrew Leitch)

In 1843, Thomas married Mary Ann Hooper and they went on to have two children, Hannah Margaret and George Thomas. Mary Ann passed away in 1850 of unknown causes. That same year, Thomas married Mary Ann Harriet Peacock. It was the second marriage for both. They were married in the St. Pancras Old Church in Camden, London. This church has a rich history and I plan on visiting it in about 3 weeks!
 
I find it quite strange, though, that on the marriage certificate (click to enlarge) that while Thomas was listed as a widower, Mary Ann is listed as a Spinster. She was a widow as well (with a young son), her first husband having passed away the year before. I would love for someone to explain that to me.
Thomas and Mary Ann had 11 children together, my great-great grandfather Frederick being the seventh child. It is interesting to note that Mary Ann ‘s father, John Dowsing Peacock, was also a tailor. He and his wife Elizabeth Pool lived in Shoreditch for many years, which is where I spent much of my time while living in London.
Thomas and Mary Ann immigrated to Ontario, Canada in 1856 and settled in Milton. Mary Ann’s uncle, Captain William Peacock also immigrated to Ontario in the early 1860s.

Capt. William Peacock

Thomas worked in Ontario as a tailor for about 20 years. Mary Ann passed away in 1898 and Thomas followed a few years later in 1901.
6 Responses to “hello”

  1. I, also, have Peacocks in my tree…. 8D

    I need to do some searching to see what I have listed….
    Sandy Cooney

    PS: Congratulations on your Master’s Degree!

  2. Wonderful work, Jordan! You truly have a gift for this. So exciting to read about these people, whom we never knew existed!! 🙂

    • Thank you! it’s really hard work to find out this information, and then it’s hard to write about them as people, when I often only have a few basic facts such as birth and death dates/locations. but I do my best to write about their lives.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

