Hello

I’ve started this blog because I  just have this need to write about what I know of my family history and to find out who my ancestors were as people. I have found some pretty exciting stuff and I want to share it with everyone.

Let me start with a little bit about myself.  I’m 24 years old. I graduated college a year ago and have a desk job that has nothing to do with my major, but I just applied to grad school.

I haven’t looked at genealogy/ family history in over 12 years, but I have a bit of time on my hands right now…. I don’t know why I decided to do it one day, maybe because I was bored out of my mind, and my mom had been bugging me about it, but I did. I had loved it when I was 12, but that was so long ago. And, let’s be honest, I hadn’t done any real work back then, I just filled out a basic pedigree chart with my grandparents and great-grandparents’ information, read some old letters and looked at the old black and white family photos in my grandma’s house and thought it was all great fun. A genealogist, I was not.

I didn’t really know where to start, so I looked up the first name that had no more ancestors on the chart – Adaline Young, my great-great grandmother on my mother’s father’s side (oh, this is going to get confusing). A few seconds later, I was staring at the 1880 US Census with not only Adaline’s name (she was 8 years old then), but her father’s! I had never seen this name before…. Nobody knew these names. A few clicks more, I discovered his wife and children’s names, their birthplaces and their birth dates. Prussia… France… Germany… I had discovered something that my family had not known before, and this felt so amazing. I had to know more.

I feel like a little detective, I have to say. Some days I don’t find much. Yesterday I hardly found anything at all and it was very frustrating. Today I found an avalanche of information and it was very exciting. I don’t go every day, especially since next week I will be working more hours. But I want to write this blog because I realize that the more details I can piece together about an ancestor’s life, I can start making a little story (that is hopefully right). I want to share these stories. I don’t want these people to be forgotten. I’ve already come across hundreds upon hundreds of names and I just want to know who they were. Of course, I can only find out a few among those hundreds, but that’s ok. Today, I even found pictures.

Leave a Reply

